S60 Browser vs. Opera Mini

We all know about Opera Mini (now on Beta 2) and its powerful features. Honestly, since I wrote about the Opera Mini Beta release, one big letdown for me was that it was a RAM killer on my N80. With the release of Beta 2, I decided to try Opera again (this time on my current phone, Nokia E61i).

I did a quick comparison on the go between the S60 browser and Opera Mini to see which one would take more RAM from my device and to my surprise Opera Mini came out on top. Now, this is my own personal experience and is not by any means the result of any serious benchmark tests. I used the New York Times website for my test. In the screenshots below you can see how the available RAM is affected by each browser.

Started with 19.7MB of available RAM

Available RAM

NYTimes.com on S60 Browser

NYTimes.com on S60 Browser

6.9MB RAM Left (S60 Browser)

6.9MB RAM Left

NYTimes.com on Opera Mini

NYTimes.com on Opera Mini

9.9MB RAM Left (Opera Mini)

9.9MB RAM Left

The difference was 3MB, not much but certainly RAM that can be used to run other apps. I guess it I had a significant amount of memory on my E61i, I wouldn’t worry about it too much, until then….I want to squeeze as much RAM as I can possible can 🙂

Leave a Reply

